Pioneer Valley Excellence in Teaching Awards

Westfield Teachers Receive 2019 Excellence in Teaching Awards
Posted on 02/27/2019
Excellence in Teaching Awards

Westfield Public School District is pleased to announce the following teachers have been selected as 2019 Pioneer Valley Excellence in Teaching Award Winners.  Teachers were nominated by their principals and a District Selection Committee scored applications using a rigorous selection criteria. 

Regina Rosario – Franklin Avenue Elementary School

Joanne Fouche – Highland Elementary School

Alexandra Brennan – Westfield Intermediate School

Kate Palmer – Westfield Middle School

Crystal Hollister – Westfield Middle School

Galen Wilson – Westfield Technical Academy

Katerina Sherrick – Westfield Middle School (New Teacher)

Teachers will be honored at a banquet for Excellence in Teaching Award Winners at the Log Cabin in Holyoke on May 1, 2019. The program will feature a new and exciting awards presentation program that elevates and celebrates every winner. Each will receive an engraved plaque and a check for $500, along with generous tuition incentives and scholarships offered by six major colleges and universities in the region: Elms College, Bay Path University, Springfield College, Western New England University, Westfield State University, and, new in 2019, the University of Massachusetts. 

Winners also receive membership at WGBY and access to thousands of digital education resources as well as generous 3-month memberships at the Springfield Jewish Community Center, the Springfield YMCA and five regional YMCAs, and other gifts.

In addition, all 2019 winners are invited to apply for the selective Classroom Innovator Prize of $250 by submitting a project-based learning idea. Up to 20 prizes will be given. On March 21, WGBY Springfield and WGBH Boston will offer a webinar to present and past award winners, led by national project-based-learning expert and author Suzie Boss.

The Excellence in Teaching Awards program is made possible by the Harold Grinspoon Charitable Foundation in partnership with MassMutual and the Irene E. & George A. Davis Foundation. Said philanthropist Harold Grinspoon, “I am thrilled that by working together, we can honor well over a hundred talented local educators every spring – and proud that we have done so every year since 2003.”

Other business and community support comes from American International College, Arrha Credit Union, Country Bank, Meyers Brothers Kalicka, Monson Savings Bank, Staples, and the Big Y.  For further information about the Excellence in Teaching Awards Program, contact Program Coordinator Michelle Roberts ( ).